PHYLLIS McDOWELL – ARTIST

DSCF2090

A couple of weeks ago I came across a small art studio very close to where I live, so I ventured in and had a look round.  I was met by a lovely lady called Phyllis and we sat chatting for ages.  I learnt so much about the paintings and work that she has done, a very clever lady.

DSCF2105DSCF2103

Her studio is set out lovely and I was loving the pink front door! DSCF2089

Her friend Malcolm has a framing studio out the back so they make a great team.  Both very organised in fact I think there was a bit of OCD out the back lol   Phyllis has been painting since she was a youngster, after art school and qualifying as an art teacher and then exhibitions, open studios and teaching took over her life.

DSCF2102DSCF2097DSCF2100

Preferring watercolours, there is a large range of paintings that Phyllis does and all done with love as she enjoys it all so much.  I asked her what her favorite painting was and it is this next one of her daughter.

DSCF2109

Phyllis now teaches small groups either in her studio or out in locations, which sounds really good so I may pop along to one of those.  During August I am being taught some basic steps by Phyllis so one day you may see mine in a gallery.  I love the way Phyllis paints a it looks so soft and easy, like it all flows over the canvas.  All of her paintings are for sale so if you are interested in anything then please do contact either myself or Phyllis.  DSCF2092

There is a new website being designed right now for her at phyllismcdowell-artist.co.uk

Her email is phyllismcd@live.com

DSCF2095DSCF2096

I tried to zoom in the above picture so you can sort of see the detail that goes into her paintings.  I think I will commission a nice pink picture for myself.

DSCF2098DSCF2099DSCF2101DSCF2091

I am sure we will be seeing a lot more of Phyllis and her fantastic paintings in the future. x

3 thoughts on “PHYLLIS McDOWELL – ARTIST

  1. Pingback: PHYLLIS McDOWELL | Karen's World

    • Omg what a small world. I’m doing one of her courses and I’m sorting out her social sites lol looking forward to Kate’s course as well. Have to meet up for lunch soon xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

