DIAMOND BOY IN THE ROUGH BY HELEN FAUL – BOOK REVIEW

FullSizeRender

I went completely out of my comfort zone by reading this book but I was pleased that I did as I think it is a well written story that  you will be hooked on and want to read more of his adventures.   I felt like I was drifting back in time while reading this and imagining I was a child again, what a brilliant adventure I would of had.  I very much admire the authors that write these great fantasies, it must be great having a mum like this to make up stories for you at bedtime.

The way Helen draws you in is magnificent and truly believable, Alfie is a great character and much like any boy of that age. It did take me longer to read but not sure if that was just me and my memory as had to go over bits when the Faerians arrived and their names, old age!

I am hoping my grandaughter will read it next as I feel it would be great to get her point of view as she is an avid reader and like me does not drift far from the authors she likes.

This would also make a great film for kids as the special effects you could use would be wonderful.  Walt Disney did you hear that?

Alfie Diamond and his first awakening takes you into fantasy land that is a bit real, well who knows what stories these old houses hold in their walls.  Lovely story Helen and very well written, great imagination.  xx

One thought on “DIAMOND BOY IN THE ROUGH BY HELEN FAUL – BOOK REVIEW

  1. Hi Karen, love the blog! We met briefly in a studio during the Open Quarter event a few weeks ago and I said I’d love to interview you for a project we are doing on Folkestone for the Roger De Haan Charitable Trust (I am a researcher working at Canterbury Christ Church University). I’ve lost your card but if you could email me (joanna.apps@canterbury.ac.uk) so we can arrange something in the next couple of weeks that would be fab. All the best Joanna

    Like

Leave a Reply

