Review of “A NAUGHTY THING CALLED LIFE” BY PAPA SPYK

IMG_0136.JPG
Papa Spyk lives in the same town as me so I said I would read his book and do a review for him so he got a bit of publicity. The book is about his life and the events that have happened to him, I felt the book could of been a bit more hard hitting with the facts but apparently he wanted to tone it down as his daughter would read it. Hopefully if they do the documentary on it that is being discussed now they will improve that part as you would get more emotion and the gutsy determination showing through then.
I feel the book could do with a professional proof reader and maybe the layout of the events changed into a more orderly read. Saying that though, he has written a good book about his life which was his aim. He goes from a lad having the time of his life to then destroying his body with drugs and then the fight back to where he is today.
I am not sure about the comments, photo album and reflection at the end of the book, maybe some of them would be better included in the main story and a photograph linking with that part.
For a first book and self published I feel he should of contacted some agents or authors for the best way to go about writing his life story.

IMG_0137.JPGNot sure he should of charged me for the book as I was reviewing it! Lol

3 thoughts on “Review of “A NAUGHTY THING CALLED LIFE” BY PAPA SPYK

  1. It sounds interesting and definitely relate-able to a lot of people. I don’t think I would have paid for it though if I was asked to review it? Just seems a bit wrong, like you are paying him to get his book out there? Seems worth checking out though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

