SOUTH EAST UK

IMG_2727.JPGWhen I was younger I never really took much notice of the weather or where I lived but I guess we don’t really.
Now I feel extremely pleased that I live down on the coast of Britain, closest place to France and Europe. We have the best weather and seem to miss a lot of the bad harsh winters including fog and frost as we are on the coast and our summers appear to be getting hotter. I best touch wood now I have said that lol.
You can be in central London in an hour or over in France, in fact you can get a train to Paris for lunch. Gatwick airport is an hour away so by the afternoon you can be laying on the beach in Portugal.
I sound like a tourist information blog but I just wanted to let people know how great it is here, I am by no means saying it is perfect as we have a lot of immigrants coming over from Calais, France and a lot just stay in Kent. The positive is that most of them do work but there still seems to be enough jobs to go round. All my granddaughters friends have got part time jobs for the summer, which is great for them and gives them a bit of independence.
There is a downside with the weather in that it cannot be guaranteed so you can’t leave your nice outdoor furniture outside all summer, which I find most annoying as I cannot have a nice wicker suite as I have no where to store it.
There is a great mixture of towns, countryside and historical places to visit, including Dover Castle where you can go down in the tunnels and the food on the tables in the dimly lit rooms actually smells like it used too, I was amazed about that! The Tower of London is great as there is so much to see there as well as the Queens jewels. All the park attractions like Chessington and Alton Towers are all within easy reach by car.
What is it like where you live? Would you live anywhere else? Do you think we appreciate where we live more if we have travelled and seen different places?
If I won the lottery I would also have a little place in Spain that I could pop over to with the grandchildren and it is a bit warmer there in January and February so be good for the old bones. I do like the thought of home from home so you have all you need there and don’t have to take much luggage. When I lived in Spain it was great to just travel with a handbag lol.

IMG_0325.JPG

Leave a Reply

