MIDWEEK

The schools here all seem to finish for holidays on different dates, I have the older grandchildren finishing today but the younger ones not until Friday. Izzy has been away all week at a school sport holiday so looking forward to seeing her next week so I can hear all about it. In the morning it is Creative Writing, we had to develop a disagreement between the two characters so I had to use the child Annabel and her Mum. This is what I came up with.

Character disagreement

Annabel was ecstatic that she had found Nanny’s special box, she was already thinking of things she could put in it with her Nan’s buttons, that were already there. Writing a story all about it and drawing it kept her busy for the rest of the morning, she was very pleased with the drawing, thinking that it was probably her best work and she would have to take it to school to show her art teacher Mr Smith. He would like it and maybe even put it up on the class wall, she liked it when he did that, it made her feel very clever and the other kids were nice to her and would ask her all about her drawing.

Hearing her Mum call her name she went running down the stairs, she found it hard to walk anywhere but that was ‘just a kid thing’ she would always answer when she got told off. Dinner was almost done so she got the knives and forks so she could lay the table as that was her job everytime they sat down to eat. Her elder brother had to wash up so she was pleased and always thought that she had the better deal.

When they all sat down for dinner Annabel excitedly told her brother and her Daddy all about what had happened that morning and finding Nanny’s special box, she got so excited that Mum had to tell her to calm down and stop shouting and fidgeting. Her brother wanted to know what was in the box and was it something that was worth a lot of money that they could sell and all go to Disneyland in America. Annabel told him to be quiet and not to be so silly as it was all Nanny’s special buttons she had saved and some paper and that she was going to put all her special treasures in it too.

“I will be taking the box and looking after it, thank you Annabel” said Mum. What did you say Mum? Annabel just wanted to check this as her brother was still going on about it too, you will be giving the box to me after dinner and I will put it in a safe place. You have left everything in it as you found it Annabel as we do not want to lose anything I hope? At this point Annabel was feeling so upset but she would not cry, she hated when her brother made fun of her when she cried. Mum I will look after it and you know I can as I have my photograph album that is still as perfect as when I got it even though it is very old. Please Mum, I really really want it just so I can remember Nan and think about her dresses from the buttons that are in the tin. Annabel no, I will be taking the tin and putting it in a safe place, your Nan was my Mum and I would like to keep it maybe when you are a bit older I will let you look after it. Annabel new that the box was lost to her as when her Mum called her Annabel there was no changing her mind on what they were talking about.

After lunch Annabel walked up to her room, shoulders drooped over, silent tears falling down her rosy cheeks she didn’t cry until she was in her room and the door was shut then she threw herself on her bed as the sobs wracked through her body. Mum knocked on the door and came in, she gave her a hug and picked the box up checking that the buttons and letter were still in there, In fact the letter had not been opened and the relief flooded through her as she stood up and walked out of Annabel’s room and went straight into her room and shut the door.

20131023-081209 pm.jpg

7 thoughts on “MIDWEEK

  1. It’s such a great story, I really look forward to the next installment. I’m all caught up with 4 months of Nanny Cool news, I feel like I know your family personally now! Hope you’re ok and I hope you have a lovely weekend 🙂 xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

