AGE……IS IT JUST A NUMBER?

I have heard that being said so many times…….age, it’s just a number! Do we mean it? Or is it just the simplest comment to make quickly and easily when faced with people telling you their age or an age difference in a relationship or friendship. Why are some situations readily accepted and some looked at with horror? If you had a girl of 25 with a best friend of 16 not really a problem but what if the friend was a boy? You immediately get the questions of, why would a girl of 25 want to be friends with a boy of 16. People always want a reason, why can’t they just be friends and accepted for what it is? We always have to question relationships if they are a little bit different, what happened to being happy for the person and not looking for an ulterior motive.
If there is a girl of say 30 going out with a man of 60 immediately you think gold digger, after his money, have you seen some 60 year olds now? They can be hot, she may not of even realised his age when first meeting him. So many people now lie about their age as they know they will immediately be characterised into something they are not.
Man of 24 going out with a woman 57, woman is put in group of having a toy boy and now she is called a cougar. Why would a young man want to be in a relationship with a woman that much older than him? Simple answer, they are attracted to one another and want to be in a relationship. Is it accepted? People know they are not going to be accepted so for some they are discreet but if age is just a number, why are people bothered? We always think there is an ulterior motive for relationships with an age difference no matter what way round it is. Each person is different and if you can see that they are happy, shouldn’t you be happy for them and accept their choices. You may not agree but hey age is just a number!
Some will work out and some not but if you don’t try you will never know and if you find you are happy then yes, age is just a number!

20130910-125807 PM.jpg

6 thoughts on “AGE……IS IT JUST A NUMBER?

  1. What a lot of great food for thought. In some ways, age is definitely just a number. My actual age and my ‘mental’ age haven’t synched yet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a teenager anymore, and in fact, I’m a double mum, but when I think of ‘me’, I still assume I’m kinda… I don’t know, 28, 29. That was a good age, LOL.

    As for relationships… well. I had an older boyfriend when I was a teenager, and that worked out well for five years until I wanted to discover the world and he was sorting out his pension scheme. (I hasten to add, he was only five years older than me. Yes, I kid you not. We didn’t recover from that discrepancy). I also dated an ‘older man’ a little later in my life, and for a few short weeks only. It was exciting and interesting, but ultimately didn’t work out, not for me, not for him. In reality, we were worlds apart. We agreed at the time that it was probably due to the distance in our ages, and that enabled us to remain friends. But really, we were probably just not all that compatible, LOL. So yes, I guess age is just a number and it really boils down to whether you click. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, I was married to an older man for 13 years and 3 children later I left but nothing to do with age. I then lived with a younger man for 13 years and then left, again not because of age. I have been out with a few younger but never older. After all that I prefer living with the cat and I like my own company. xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tend to be just the opposite: I tend to date older men – mostly because I have been more attracted to them physically. I have dated only a very few younger men (who looked older). But all bets are off where friendship is concerned. Male or female, I like to have friends of ALL ages.

        Relationship-wise, I’m with you now, however – except that I am highly allergic to cats (along with most dogs), so my current live-in buddy is TinkerToy, my little Shih Tzu, a breed that few are allergic to.

        I haven’t noticed that many of my male friends pay a lot of attention to age – except that they do like the look of young, unlined skin, taut bellies, etc. But my female friends seem to worry about being the “wrong” age (usually with some kind of concern about lines or greying hair). I like to say, “Nah, you’re only as old as you dress!” — within reason, of course. I have long ago given up navel-baring fashion statements, and my mini-skirts have been donated to younger wearers. I doubt I’ll ever give up my leggings, boots and leather jackets, however. 🙂

        Interesting topic – and I enjoyed the comments it generated as well.
        xx,
        mgh
        (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
        – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
        “It takes a village to transform a world!”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

